Home Page

Luddenham School Every Child Can Achieve


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)
The EYFS is the stage of education for children from birth to the end of the Reception year. It is based on the recognition that children learn best through play and active learning. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside. Children will learn new skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.
Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first:
·        Communication and language
·        Physical development
·        Personal, social and emotional development.
These prime areas are those most essential to children’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas:
·        English
·        Mathematics
·        Understanding the world
·        Expressive arts and design
These 7 areas are used to plan children’s learning and activities.
The professionals teaching and supporting the children will make sure that the activities are suited to each child’s unique needs. This curriculum is suitable for very young children and it's designed to be flexible, allowing staff to follow each child's unique needs and interests. You can find more information on the Early Years Foundation Stage, which includes the early learning goals, at

Fairness, Leadership, Imagination, Grit, Honesty, Team Work